Reader's Spotlight

Reader’s Spotlight #7: Ancient Future:

The Teachings and Prophetic Wisdom of the Seven Hermetic Laws of Ancient Egypt

The [ancient] past is the future.

Ancient future is a must read for anyone who wants to learn about the seven Hermetic Laws or begin their search for the truth. Although, once you learn them, it is imperative that you implement them into your everyday life if you want to receive any benefits from them.

Now, you may be asking: “What are the Hermetic Laws?” The Hermetic Laws are the fundamental principles (truths) that govern life in the universe. They could also be referred to as some of the universal laws. They are some of the oldest teachings, given to the world by the great sage of ancient Egypt, Tehuti (known to the Greeks as Thoth or Hermes), who was born during the antediluvian period.

“These axioms of ancient Egypt are a practical guide to obtaining clarity of perception and of imparting this perception to every facet of life: social, political, psychological, spiritual, and metaphysical. The wonder of the Hermetic philosophy is that its message is not only eternal but transformative, regardless of the capacity in which it is being used. Therefore its principles may be applied to science, medicine, technology, or history and the results will be a clear, comprehensive vision of the dynamics inherent in the specific area of study.”

Wayne B. Chandler, author of Ancient Future (found in the preface)

One’s awareness of the Hermetic laws will allow them the chance to “recognize and rise above” our ordinary lifestyles, the divisions that have been created for and by us that put us into a box, such as race, sex, religion, and many other categories, identities and social constructs. The knowledge imparted by these laws make it clear that within the universe all things, events, and people are connected and dependent upon one another, which becomes evident when the Hermetic Laws are applied to history.

Wayne Chandler breaks Ancient Future into two parts. The first part of the book is basically an introduction to the seven Hermetic Laws and gives a brief overview of what they are. The second part of the book gives a deep and insightful analysis of these laws, dedicating a chapter for each law and explaining how they can be observed within the different facets of life (politics, religion, genetics, etc.). Below are the seven Hermetic axioms and some quotes from the book, as well as an overview about the chapters found in the book:

The Seven Hermetic Principles

  1. The Principle of Mentalism — “The All is Mind; The Universe is Mental”
  2. The Principle of Correspondence — “As above, so below; as below, so above”
  3. The Principle of Vibration — “Nothing rests; everything moves; everything vibrates”
  4. The Principle of Polarity — “Everything is dual; everything has poles; everything has its pair of opposites; like and unlike are the same; opposites are identical in nature, but different in degree; extremes meet; all truths are but half-truths; all paradoxes may be reconciled.”
  5. The Principle of Gender — “Gender is in everything; everything has its Masculine and Feminine principles; Gender manifests on all planes.”
  6. The Principle of Rhythm — “Everything flows out and in; everything has its tides; all things rise and fall; the pendulum swing manifests in everything; the measure of the swing to the right is the measure of the swing to the left; rhythm compensates.”
  7. The Principle of Causation — “Every cause has its Effect; every Effect has its cause; everything happens according to Law; Chance is but a name for Law not recognized; there are many planes of causation, but none escapes the Law.”

In chapter one, on Mentalism, Wayne explains that the universe is a mental creation of the All. All is one and one is all. He also speaks on the Hermetic explanation of “God” or the All, the cyclical nature of the concept we call “time”, which we are taught is linear, goes into scared geometry. In chapter two, on Correspondence, the reader learns about the Egyptian star of creation and its connection to the axiom, the three great planes of correspondence: the Great Physical Plane, the Great Mental Plane, and the Great Spiritual. In chapter three, on Vibration, Wayne gets into how vibration manifests on all planes of existence, the process of mental induction, and mental vibration and telepathy. In chapter four, on Polarity, you learn about how humans face duality throughout daily life, that there are two sides to everything and that every truth may also be a lie. In chapter five, on Gender, Wayne talks about the differences in Western and Hermetic perceptions of Gender, the passive and active mind, and social and mental gender. In chapter six, on Rhythm, you’ll learn about socio-political and economic patterns, the four great ages of humankind (spoken about in the Manvantara): the Krita/Satya Yuga, the Treta Yuga, the Dwapara Yuga, and the Kali Yuga, the changing of Earth’s Electromagnetic field, the planetary grid, and the transformation of consciousness. Lastly, in chapter seven, on Causation, the reader will learn that nothing in the universe happens by chance [there are no coincidences], how Maat embodies cause and effect on its many levels, the four noble truths of Buddha, and about karma.

The above is just a small sample of what Wayne’s in depth analysis of the Hermetic axioms really are, and if you would like to know more, you’ll have to read the book.

Leave A Comment


Looking for a Great Book to Read? Look No Further!

Click below to find out more details and to get started on your purchase.

Order Your Copy Today>>